Some of my favourite things!

Image

Yesterday I went round my house taking pic’s of some of my favourite things.  Funny thing to do I know, but sometimes one looks over silly little things that are special to you.  Offen clients will say, “Oh that piece is really specail to me, but if you think its awful then through it out”, and I can see the panic and stress in their faces.  And offen its not the value but the sentimental value or it makes you feel good everyday when you look at it, or you picked it up in a market on a special date or day.  I have many items around my home that are very special to me and most have a story of where I found them or brought them back from, some overseas trips and others local junk shop ventures.

This Polo cushion I found in a little shop in England when I went over on one of my decorating tours, I remember I didn’t buy much that trip, just two really awesome scatter cushions (one being the Designers Guild scatter below) and a leopard skin handbag 🙂

Image

Image

Image

These cushions I just love and I picked them up while scouting around Johannesburg looking for accessories for clients homes.

Image

Image

Image

This is a lovely little bowl I picked up at a ceramics shop in Paarl, its was in the reject sections and I picked it up for a steel, they usually go for a fortune.  I just loved the fun colours and really didn’t feel there was too much wrong with it, just a lovely piece to have in my home.

Image

These are original hunting prints I picked up a few years ago at one of my favourite antique store in Lions River, The Lions River Trading Post in the Midlands.  They cost a fortune at the time but I just had to have them.

Image

An original pastel by Pam Bentley, its a hunt scene, done in the midlands.

Image

My wooden and ceramic stick people are from all over the place and all have a little story.

Image

Don’t look too closely at this mosaic work, it was my first attempt.  Some of my Belle Fiore dinner service got broken in one of my moves and I decided to use it in my first attempt at mosaicing.  But its special to me and just love all the colours and little bits I added in.

Leave a Reply

