Ancient Fabrics from Thailand

IMG_1285

When we were walking through Chiang Mai I came across the most incredible store, owned by an english couple.  They had artifacts and antiquities from all over thailand and surrounding countries.  Interesting pieces of jewellery, traditional headdresses, smaller items found in the home, traditional garments and fabrics from ancient traditional garments. The wife had also cleaverly taken fabric from traditional garments that are falling apart and makes stunning handbags.

We bought a roll of fabric, a thick braid that was from the bottom of a traditional pleated skirt. Worn by mountainous people in the far regions of Thailand.

These garmets have the most incredible detail, in brilliant colours of fine silk and embroidery.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

9 thoughts on “Ancient Fabrics from Thailand

  1. Hi Amanda
    I was thrilled to read your fascinating posts about Thailand..despite having lived in Dubai for almost 14 years, I have never visited Thailand but I will be in Phuket in about two weeks for a long waited rest! The colours and sights look amazing and I cannot wait to see it all ! Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos…

      • Thanks Amanda..where in the Midlands do you live? I used to live in Durban and had many a fabulous weekend away in the Midlands…I miss the green and the mountains!!! I am beyond envious that you have made a life there….

      • I live in Hilton. I travel to Durban to see clients & get fabric samples for clients every week. And just love being in my little country town on the weekends & visiting friends in Nottingham road. Lived in Jhb for 10 years so it was just the best to move back home

      • Hilton is lovely-I went to boarding school in Pietermaritzburg so I relate to the small town ideal…I also miss Durban, but mostly the familiarity of it all..Dubai is so fast and can be very impersonal…I miss Home Fabrics like crazy!!! We have one or two decent ” Western ” fabric suppliers but the cheapest fabrics are very Arabic/Eastern looking and a huge challenge to use in projects…I am seriously considering designing my own range of fabrics and having them printed in India in order to have access to decent designs!!

      • Wow, thanks so interesting, I have wanted to design my own range for years as well & have recently start messing with fabric paint that’s been waiting in a cupboard for years 🙂 so slowly I am dabbing a bit hoping I will get up the courage to put something decent together. Well I wish u all the best with that, so very exciting.
        I went to St Johns where did you go to school?

      • I went to Girls High in PMB about 100 years ago when it was still a great school..I loved it and made friends there who I still keep in touch with now!
        With your fabrics Amanda, I can only say go for it!!! I studied Textile Design at college (Natal University of Technology, I think it is now called) and it led to what I do now in Dubai….the funny thing is I paint everything by hand, because when I was at college, we did not do anything on computers like we do today! Its really antiquated!!

      • I went to Girls High in PMB about 100 years ago when it was still a great school..I loved it and made friends there who I still keep in touch with now!
        With your fabrics Amanda, I can only say go for it!!! I studied Textile Design at college (Natal University of Technology, I think it is now called) and it led to what I do now in Dubai….the funny thing is I paint everything by hand, because when I was at college, we did not do anything on computers like we do today! Its really antiquated!!

      • Wow, I went to Girls High first back in the day & then to St John’s. Yes a good friend of mine studied Textile Design at Durban Tech so remember she did it all by hand. When I took a tour of decorators to UK we went to Sanderson Design Studio & my question everyone laughed at was, do any of you still design by hand. The chief designer said she did & one of the other designers said she envies her ability & regrets not learning that way. I think the other decorators felt a bit silly that my question was not so silly but very relevant.
        I wish I had done textile design, such an awesome grounding. I did fine arts & then interior design, and have such a passion for textiles

Leave a Reply

