Lake Como

Image

This is my favourite place in the world.  For years I wanted to visit Lake Como, it was always at the top of my list.  And finally I got it right to visit a few years ago.  I tell you I could easily have cancelled the rest of my trip and just stay on Lake Como for my whole holiday.  And I could easily go and live there or spend at least a few weeks on the Lake.  

You can expect at least 4 seasons in a day or more a day.  But it is by far the most picturesque place in the world and jumping on the ferry, going from one side to the other visiting all the little villlages is the best day trip.  I stayed in a gorgeous little hotel right on the lake.  It cost next to nothing and was the best I have ever stayed in.  The people don’t speak much english but they are so helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.   The bus driver even stopped outside my hotel to drop me off specially because it was raining when I arrived.

I could easily go back tomorrow and just looking at these photo’s tonight has made me rather homesick for the place.

Image

Image

Image

 Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image  

2 thoughts on “Lake Como

  1. Gorgeous photos Amanda…what a great trip..it is one place on my bucket list I really do want to visit…I have a lovely of one of the little villages on the lake which belonged to my grandmother and since I was a little girl, I wanted to see it for myself! Perhaps I will make a plan to go there this year….hope you had a great Christmas and New year.

    • Thank you. I must admit I am feeling a little like you this year, with nothing really lined up work wise, but convinced it will be much better then the last 3 years. I have been at my desk all morning trying not to be consumed with panic but rather focused on good things for the year, both work wise and in my personal life. Lake Como is worth every minute, it does have every season and more in one day, but its just such a special place. Take a raincoat! There is a big town at the bottom of the Lake and then lots of little towns right around the huge lake and they are all different and you really have to get on the ferry and go from town to town and just experience them all. All the very best for the year ahead, it sounds like Dubai is the happening place this year. Take care Amanda

Leave a Reply

